SUPPLEMENTS / BUYING GUIDE
Best NAD Supplements (2026): NR and NMN Picks Compared by Dose and Price
By the biohack.site Editorial Team
We research products using brand pages, third-party lab reports and published studies. Not medical advice. How we make money
Last reviewed:
The best NAD supplements compared: Tru Niagen, Thorne NiaCel, Life Extension and Renue By Science by dose, testing and cost per serving.
Affiliate disclosure: biohack.site is reader-supported. Some links on this page are affiliate links, and we may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide our rankings. See our affiliate disclosure.
Short answer: For most people, the best NAD supplement is a nicotinamide riboside (NR) product using the patented Niagen ingredient, such as Tru Niagen, because NR has the longest human research record. Tested athletes may prefer Thorne NiaCel 400 (NSF Certified for Sport), and NMN fans should pick a brand that publishes batch COAs.
By the biohack.site editorial team · Last reviewed October 29, 2026
Looking for the best NAD supplement? Start with a small surprise: most "NAD supplements" don't contain much NAD+ at all. They contain precursors, mainly nicotinamide riboside (NR) and nicotinamide mononucleotide (NMN), which your cells use to make NAD+ themselves. NAD+ is a coenzyme involved in cellular energy metabolism, and levels tend to decline with age, which is why it has become a cornerstone of many healthy-aging routines.
This guide compares four widely sold NAD supplements by what you can actually verify: the ingredient, the dose per serving, the published price, and what the brand says about third-party testing.
How we researched this: We have not lab-tested these products. Prices, doses and testing claims come from each brand's product page (rechecked October 29, 2026). Prices are one-time US list prices before subscriptions, coupons, tax and shipping, and they change often.
What is an NAD supplement?
An NAD supplement is a product designed to support your body's NAD+ levels. There are three broad types:
NR (nicotinamide riboside). The most studied precursor in humans. The patented form is sold as Niagen, used in Tru Niagen and Life Extension's NAD+ Cell Regenerator.
NMN (nicotinamide mononucleotide). NR with an extra phosphate group. Popular in longevity circles. See our best NMN supplement guide for a deeper NMN-only comparison.
"Direct" NAD+. Oral NAD+ itself. It is a large molecule, and most brands that focus on evidence use precursors instead.
If you're deciding between the first two, read our companion piece, NMN vs NR.
Quick picks
Best overall (most-studied form, broad testing claims): Tru Niagen 300 mg (see price)
Best for athletes (NSF Certified for Sport): Thorne NiaCel 400 (see price)
Best value NR: Life Extension NAD+ Cell Regenerator (see price)
Best NMN powder: Renue By Science NMN Pure Powder (see price)
Best NAD supplement comparison table
Product | Form | Dose | Price | Testing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Tru Niagen | NR (Niagen) | 300 mg | $49 / 30 servings | Alkemist Labs; NSF Certified for Sport |
Thorne NiaCel 400 | NR hydrogen malate | see label | $74 / 60 capsules | NSF Certified for Sport |
Life Extension NAD+ Cell Regenerator | NR (Niagen) | 300 mg | $40.50 / 30 capsules | Not stated on page |
Renue By Science Pure Powder | NMN | 500 mg / scoop | $54.95 | Batch COAs from US labs |
How we chose the best NAD supplements
There are hundreds of NAD-labelled products on Amazon. We narrowed the list using four criteria that matter more than a flashy label.
1. A clearly named precursor
We only included products that state exactly which molecule you are getting and how much. "NAD+ booster blend" with a proprietary total is a red flag, because you can't compare it to the doses used in human studies.
2. A dose in the studied range
Human NR studies have used doses from 100 mg up to 1,000 mg per day: Conze and colleagues (Scientific Reports, 2019) compared 100, 300 and 1,000 mg, and Martens and colleagues (Nature Communications, 2018) gave 500 mg twice daily for six weeks to healthy middle-aged and older adults. NMN trials have used roughly 250 to 900 mg per day, including Yi and colleagues (GeroScience, 2023), who tested 300, 600 and 900 mg. Every product here falls inside those ranges at one or two servings.
3. Third-party testing you can check
Supplements are not approved by the FDA before sale, so independent testing is the main way to confirm a label. We gave the most weight to certifications that are publicly searchable (such as NSF Certified for Sport) and to brands that publish batch-specific Certificates of Analysis (COAs).
4. Transparent pricing
We compared one-time list prices from the brand's own store, then estimated cost per serving.
The best NAD supplements, reviewed
Tru Niagen 300 mg: best overall
Tru Niagen is made by ChromaDex, the company behind the patented Niagen form of nicotinamide riboside. Each serving delivers 300 mg of NR. The brand lists a regular price of $49 for 30 servings, with larger packs at $127 (90) and $244 (180), and subscription pricing from $39.20.
On testing, Tru Niagen says its products are checked by Alkemist Labs for identity, safety, quality and potency, and it is listed as NSF Certified for Sport. That combination is the most complete testing story of any product in this guide.
Why we like it: the most widely studied NR ingredient, a clear dose, and multiple independent quality checks.
Consider: it is not the cheapest NR per milligram, and the 300 mg serving is below the 500 mg used in some trials.
Thorne NiaCel 400: best for athletes
Thorne's NiaCel 400 uses nicotinamide riboside in a hydrogen malate form. Thorne lists it at $74 for 60 capsules, and the product page identifies it as NSF Certified for Sport, a certification that screens for substances banned in sport and checks that the label matches the contents. That makes it a strong option if you compete in a tested sport.
Why we like it: NSF Certified for Sport, from a brand with a long record of third-party certification.
Consider: check the label for the exact NR amount per capsule; it's the priciest pack here in absolute terms.
Life Extension NAD+ Cell Regenerator: best value NR
Life Extension uses the same Niagen nicotinamide riboside chloride as Tru Niagen, at 300 mg per capsule, for $40.50 for 30 capsules. That's about $8.50 less than Tru Niagen for an identical NR dose.
Why we like it: the same patented ingredient for less money.
Consider: the product page we checked does not state a third-party testing claim, so you are relying on the brand's own quality program.
Check price on Life Extension →
Renue By Science NMN Pure Powder: best NMN option
If you'd rather try NMN, Renue By Science sells a pure NMN powder at $54.95, with 500 mg per scoop. The brand says every batch is independently tested in US labs and publishes batch-specific COAs for purity, potency and quality.
Why we like it: a published, batch-matched COA and a flexible powder dose.
Consider: powders need measuring, and NMN has a shorter human research record than NR. Our best NMN supplement guide compares eight more NMN brands.
Check price on Renue By Science →
Do NAD supplements work?
The honest answer: human studies consistently show that NR and NMN raise NAD+ levels in the blood. Whether that translates into noticeable everyday benefits is less settled. For example, a 2021 study in Science by Yoshino and colleagues gave 250 mg of NMN per day for 10 weeks to a small group of overweight postmenopausal women and reported improved muscle insulin sensitivity, but it was a small, specific group and the result may not apply to everyone.
Treat a NAD supplement as one part of a healthy-aging routine, alongside sleep, exercise and nutrition, rather than a shortcut. If you want to see how your own markers change over time, a blood panel can help; see our Function Health review and the testing hub.
Are NAD supplements safe?
Human NR trials have generally reported it to be well tolerated at the studied doses, and the Martens 2018 trial described NR as well tolerated over six weeks. As with any supplement, start at the label dose, and talk to a clinician first if you take medication, are pregnant or nursing, or have a health condition.
A note on NMN's regulatory status
In 2022 the FDA said NMN was excluded from the US definition of a dietary supplement. In September 2025 it reversed that position and concluded NMN may be sold as a supplement (NutraIngredients), and in December 2025 it reinstated NMN's new dietary ingredient status for several suppliers (NutraIngredients). This isn't an FDA approval of any product or a finding that it's effective, but it means NMN products remain legally on sale in the US.
How to choose the best NAD supplement for you
You want the most-studied option: choose an NR product using Niagen (Tru Niagen or Life Extension).
You are a tested athlete: choose an NSF Certified for Sport product (Thorne NiaCel or Tru Niagen).
You want NMN specifically: pick a brand that publishes batch COAs, like Renue By Science.
You are budget-focused: compare cost per 100 mg, not price per bottle.
You can browse more options in our supplements hub.
FAQ
What is the best NAD supplement?
For most people, an NR supplement using the Niagen ingredient, like Tru Niagen, is the best-documented starting point. Athletes may prefer Thorne NiaCel 400 for its NSF Certified for Sport status.
What is the best NAD+ supplement on the market?
There's no single winner for everyone. Tru Niagen has the broadest published testing claims of the products we reviewed, while Life Extension offers the same NR dose for less.
Which brand of NAD supplement is best?
Pick a brand that names its precursor, lists the dose, and shows independent testing. Tru Niagen, Thorne, Life Extension and Renue By Science all meet the first two; check the testing column above for the third.
What are NAD supplements?
They're products designed to support NAD+ levels, usually by supplying a precursor such as NR or NMN that your cells convert into NAD+.
Do NAD supplements work?
Studies show NR and NMN raise blood NAD+ levels. Evidence for broader everyday benefits is still developing, so set realistic expectations.
Related guides
Sources
Tru Niagen 300 mg product page: https://www.truniagen.com/products/tru-niagen-300mg
Thorne NiaCel 400: https://www.thorne.com/products/dp/niacel-400
Life Extension NAD+ Cell Regenerator: https://www.lifeextension.com/vitamins-supplements/item02344/nad-cell-regenerator
Renue By Science NMN Pure Powder: https://renuebyscience.com/products/pure-powder-100-grams
NSF Certified for Sport listing, Tru Niagen 300 mg: https://www.nsfsport.com/certified-products/listing-detail.php?id=1263423
Martens et al., Nature Communications 2018 (NR 500 mg twice daily): https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-018-03421-7
Conze et al., Scientific Reports 2019 (NR 100/300/1,000 mg): https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-019-46120-z
Yoshino et al., Science 2021 (NMN 250 mg): https://doi.org/10.1126/science.abe9985
Yi et al., GeroScience 2023 (NMN 300/600/900 mg): https://doi.org/10.1007/s11357-022-00705-1
FDA declares NMN lawful in dietary supplements (NutraIngredients, Sept 30, 2025): https://www.nutraingredients.com/Article/2025/09/30/fda-declares-nmn-lawful-in-dietary-supplements/
FDA reinstates NDI status of NMN (NutraIngredients, Dec 9, 2025): https://www.nutraingredients.com/Article/2025/12/09/fda-reinstates-ndi-status-of-nmn-with-new-letters-to-ingredient-players/
Medical disclaimer: This article is for general wellness education and is not medical advice. NAD supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, and these statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. Consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any supplement.
Desk-research overview. No hands-on testing or medical review is implied. Educational information only. Product terms and availability can change; verify details with the provider.